Train the trainer for the development of hand-woven fabrics

In addition to the cultivation of cotton, the training of tailors and the serial production of garments, the development of high-quality yarns and fabrics is also important in order to close the textile value chain. With the University of Education in Winneba, we are venturing into precisely this exciting terrain. It is about economic self-sufficiency, but also culture, identification and dignity.

TRAIN THE TRAINER FOR THE DEVELOPMENT OF HAND-WOVEN FABRICS

In addition to the cultivation of cotton, the training of tailors and the serial production of garments, the development of high-quality yarns and fabrics is also important in order to close the textile value chain. With the University of Education in Winneba, we are venturing into precisely this exciting terrain. It is about economic self-sufficiency, but also culture, identification and dignity.

Presidential Republic

Form of government

238537 km²

Area

30.79 million

Inhabitants (2021)

religions

71 % Christians, 18 % Muslims,

5 % traditional religions

92,5 %

Youth literacy rate
(2018)

+ 2,0 %

Population growth rate
(2021)

Country profile

GEOGRAPHICAL LOCATION

Ghana is located on the Gulf of Guinea and borders the Ivory Coast to the west, Togo to the east and Burkina Faso to the north. The country is roughly the size of Great Britain, with most people living along the coast, in the capital Accra or in the second largest city in the centre of the country: Kumasi.

ECONOMY

Thanks to its political stability, Ghana is an important business location in West Africa; the secretariat of the new African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) has been located in Accra since 2020. However, poor transport infrastructure, high interest rates and corruption continue to hamper investment.

RELIGION AND LANGUAGE

The south of the country is Christian, the north Islamic, and there is hardly any tension between the two religions. Ghana was the first sub-Saharan country to gain independence in 1957. The official language is English, but there are also more than 70 ethnic languages, most notably Akan.

TEXTILES AND THE TEXTILE INDUSTRY

Cheap imports from Asia and second-hand clothing from Europe are also having a massive impact on the local textile and clothing industry in Ghana. The government is trying to combat this and protect the sector. Characteristic of Ghana are the hand-woven Kente fabrics with their geometric patterns and bright colours.

Fabric development in Winneba

In order to become less dependent on fabrics from abroad, there is a need for reflection and reorientation: what knowledge is available, how can traditional techniques and patterns be reactivated and reinterpreted, who is interested in hand-woven fabrics, what materials are available and in what quality? Together with Invest for Jobs, a brand of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), and the University of Education, Winneba, we are looking for answers to these questions. Experimenting with weaving techniques, materials and colours on the university campus. Researching the potential of ecological fibres such as organic cotton, pineapple and birch wood. We conduct market analyses and develop strategies to increase the production of hand-woven fabrics without compromising quality and while maintaining good working conditions.

In order to become less dependent on fabrics from abroad, there is a need for reflection and reorientation: what knowledge is available, how can traditional techniques and patterns be reactivated and reinterpreted, who is interested in hand-woven fabrics, what materials are available and in what quality? Together with Invest for Jobs, a brand of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), and the University of Education, Winneba, we are looking for answers to these questions. Experimenting with weaving techniques, materials and colours on the university campus. Researching the potential of ecological fibres such as organic cotton, pineapple and birch wood. We conduct market analyses and develop strategies to increase the production of hand-woven fabrics without compromising quality and while maintaining good working conditions.

Our train-the-trainer programme with a focus on “weaving” is an indispensable basis. Students and skilled weavers from the Volta region are taught how to set up, operate and maintain wooden looms. At our side: Andreas Möller, founder of FLYING8.

It is in our interest that the weavers go back to their home villages after completing our programme and pass on their knowledge to young people. This is also about spreading knowledge and building small, local units.

We are in close dialogue with African fashion designers and the local textile industry in order to identify and sound out needs, interests and potential – and this always involves topics such as identity, reflection, new beginnings and prospects in one’s own country.

OUR LOCAL CONTACT: OSUANYI QUAICOO ESSEL

The trained textile designer and sculptor teaches fashion and textile education at the University of Education, Winneba. He is particularly interested in Ghanaian clothing culture: past, present and future.

News & Stories

Future in our own country

Future in our own country

Lessons in the class of Osuanyi Quaicoo Essel, in which students practise the role of teachers.  The University of Education in Winneba (UEW) was recommended to us as a partner for our project in Ghana - since our visit at the beginning of the year, we know even...

Handmade

Handmade

How do you build a loom from a pile of boards that is not only faster, but can also weave fabrics 1.60 metres wide? For our first training module at the University of Education in Winneba, we invited 15 weavers to learn this skill. At our side: Andreas Möller,...

THE PROJECT JUSTINE – train the trainer e.V.

Behind the organisation are Rahmée Wetterich and Marie Darouiche, founders of the Munich fashion label NOH NEE. With the success of their internationally renowned Dirndl à l’ Africaine, the question of a suitable production location quickly arose: In which country, on which continent do we want to have our clothes made in future? Under fair conditions and characterised by mutual interest, appreciation and respect. The search for a coherent answer led the founders to Benin in 2017 – even if production was initially out of the question. Not because there was a lack of seamstresses and tailors, but because there was no common understanding of how to sew trousers, a shirt or even a dirndl.

Today, THE PROJECT JUSTINE – train the trainer runs its own training and vocational centre in the north of Benin, where young women and men learn the tailoring trade from scratch and grow up to become trainers. The commitment is bearing fruit. The first students have been trained, are passing on their knowledge to the next generation and are being asked for their expertise by neighbouring countries. With the growing interest in West Africa as a production location for textiles, the need is evident everywhere: there is a lack of tailors who can process fabrics to a consistently high standard, as well as a lack of trainers who can train and instruct. The first co-operations and partnerships across national borders are emerging – always with the aim of creating long-term jobs.

We are grateful for the journey that lies behind us. And we look forward to the steps that will follow. Africa is on the move. We are moving with it.

Milestones

Team & Supporters

Our partners

CONCENTRATION ON SEVEN GOALS (SGDs) OF THE UNITED NATIONS

THE PROJECT JUSTINE
- train the trainer e.V.
Agricolaplatz 7
80687 Munich


+49 (0) 89 88 98 12 70
info@theprojectjustine.org

THE PROJECT JUSTINE - train the trainer e.V.
IBAN DE71 4306 0967 8237 2376 00
BIC GENODEM1GLS

Quicklinks

ABOUT US

PROJECTS

NEWS & STORIES

DONATE

PRESS

INVITATIONS TO TENDER

Please support us:

© THE PROJECT JUSTINE – train the trainer e.V.

Train the Trainer für DIE Entwicklung handgewebter Stoffe

Um die textile Wertschöpfungskette schließen zu können, sind neben dem Anbau von Baumwolle, der Ausbildung von Schneiderinnen und Schneidern, sowie der seriellen Produktion von Kleidungsstücken auch die Entwicklung von hochwertigen Garnen und Stoffen wichtig. Mit der University of Education in Winneba wagen wir uns auf genau dieses spannende Terrain. Es geht um wirtschaftliche Autarkie, aber auch Kultur, Identifikation und Würde.

TRAIN THE TRAINER FÜR DIE ENTWICKLUNG HANDGEWEBTER STOFFE

Um die textile Wertschöpfungskette schließen zu können, sind neben dem Anbau von Baumwolle, der Ausbildung von Schneiderinnen und Schneidern, sowie der seriellen Produktion von Kleidungsstücken auch die Entwicklung von hochwertigen Garnen und Stoffen wichtig. Mit der University of Education in Winneba wagen wir uns auf genau dieses spannende Terrain. Es geht um wirtschaftliche Autarkie, aber auch Kultur, Identifikation und Würde.

PRÄSIDIALE REPUBLIK

Staatsform

238.537 km²

Fläche

30,79 Mio.

Einwohner (2021)

Religionen

71 % Christen, 18 % Muslime,

5 % traditionelle Religionen

92,5 %

Jugend-Alphabetisierungsrate
(2018)

+ 2,0 %

Bevölkerungswachstumsrate
(2021)

Länderprofil

GEOGRAFISCHE LAGE

Ghana liegt am Golf von Guinea und grenzt im Westen an die Elfenbeinküste, östlich an Togo und im Norden an Burkina Faso an. Das Land ist ungefähr so groß wie Großbritannien, die meisten Menschen wohnen entlang der Küste, in der Hauptstadt Accra oder der zweitgrößten Stadt im Landesinneren: Kumasi.

WIRTSCHAFT

Aufgrund seiner politischen Stabilität ist Ghana ein wichtiger Wirtschaftsstandort in Westafrika, in Accra befindet sich seit 2020 das Sekretariat der neuen afrikanischen Freihandelszone African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA). Mangelhafte Transportinfrastruktur, hohe Zinsen und Korruption wirken jedoch nach wie vor investitionshemmend. 

RELIGION UND SPRACHE

Der Süden des Landes ist christlich geprägt, der Norden islamisch, Spannungen zwischen beiden Religionen gibt es kaum. 1957 erlangte Ghana als erstes subsaharisches Land die Unabhängigkeit. Amtssprache ist Englisch, daneben gibt es mehr als 70 ethnische Sprachen, allen voran Akan.

TEXTIL UND TEXTILE INDUSTRIE

Auch in Ghana beeinflussen Billigimporte aus Asien sowie Second-Hand-Kleidung aus Europa die lokale Textil- und Bekleidungsindustrie massiv. Die Regierung versucht, dagegen vorzugehen und den Sektor zu schützen. Charakteristisch für Ghana sind die handgewebten Kente-Stoffe mit ihren geometrischen Mustern und leuchtenden Farben.

Stoffentwicklung in Winneba

Um unabhängiger von Stoffen aus dem Ausland zu werden, braucht es Rückbesinnung und Neuorientierung: Welches Wissen ist vorhanden, wie lassen sich traditionelle Techniken und Muster reaktivieren und neu interpretieren, wer hat Interesse an handgewebten Stoffen, welche Materialien stehen in welcher Qualität zur Verfügung? Im Schulterschluss mit Invest for Jobs, eine Marke der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), sowie der University of Education, Winneba suchen wir nach Antworten auf diese Fragen. Auf dem Campus der Universität experimentieren mit Webtechniken, Materialien und Farben. Erforschen das Potential ökologischer Fasern wie Bio-Baumwolle, Ananas und Birkenholz. Erstellen Marktanalysen und eruieren Strategien, wie die Produktion von handgewebten Stoffen ohne Qualitätsverluste und unter Wahrung guter Arbeitsbedingungen gesteigert werden kann. 

Um unabhängiger von Stoffen aus dem Ausland zu werden, braucht es Rückbesinnung und Neuorientierung: Welches Wissen ist vorhanden, wie lassen sich traditionelle Techniken und Muster reaktivieren und neu interpretieren, wer hat Interesse an handgewebten Stoffen, welche Materialien stehen in welcher Qualität zur Verfügung? Im Schulterschluss mit Invest for Jobs, eine Marke der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), sowie der University of Education, Winneba suchen wir nach Antworten auf diese Fragen. Auf dem Campus der Universität experimentieren mit Webtechniken, Materialien und Farben. Erforschen das Potential ökologischer Fasern wie Bio-Baumwolle, Ananas und Birkenholz. Erstellen Marktanalysen und eruieren Strategien, wie die Produktion von handgewebten Stoffen ohne Qualitätsverluste und unter Wahrung guter Arbeitsbedingungen gesteigert werden kann. 

Eine unverzichtbare Basis ist unser train the trainer-Programm mit Schwerpunkt „Weberei“. Studierende und gelernte Weber aus der Volta-Region werden in Aufbau, Bedienung und Wartung von Holzwebstühlen gelehrt. Dafür an unserer Seite: Andreas Möller, Gründer von FLYING8. 

Es liegt in unserem Interesse, dass die Weber und Weberinnen nach Abschluss unseres Programms zurück in ihre Heimatdörfer gehen und ihr Wissen an junge Menschen weitergeben. Auch hier geht es um die Verbreitung von Wissen und den Aufbau kleiner, lokaler Einheiten. 

Wir stehen im engen Austausch mit afrikanischen Modedesignern und der lokalen Textilindustrie, um Bedürfnisse, Interessen und Potentiale abzufragen und auszuloten – dabei geht es auch immer um Themen wie Identität, Rückbesinnung, Aufbruch und Perspektiven im eigenen Land.    

UNSER Ansprechpartner VOR ORT: OSUANYI QUAICOO ESSEL

Der ausgebildete Textildesigner und Bildhauer lehrt Mode- und Textilerziehung an der University of Education, Winneba. Sein besonderes Interesse gilt dabei der ghanaischen Kleiderkultur: Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft.

News & Storys

Zukunft im eigenen Land

Zukunft im eigenen Land

Unterricht in der Klasse von Osuanyi Quaicoo Essel,bei dem sich Studierende in die Rolle von Lehrenden üben. Die University of Education in Winneba (UEW) wurde uns als Partner für unser Projekt in Ghana empfohlen – seit unserem Besuch Anfang des Jahres wissen wir noch...

Handgemacht

Handgemacht

Wie baut man aus einem Haufen Bretter einen Webstuhl, mit dem man nicht nur schneller, sondern auch Stoffen mit einer Breite von 1,60 Metern weben kann?  Für unser erstes Ausbildungsmodul an der University of Education in Winneba haben wir 15 Weber und Weberinnen...

THE PROJECT JUSTINE – train the trainer e.V.

Hinter dem Verein stehen federführend Rahmée Wetterich und Marie Darouiche, Gründerinnen des Münchner Modelabels NOH NEE. Mit dem Erfolg ihres international bekannten Dirndl à l‘ Africaine kam schnell die Frage nach einem geeigneten Produktionsstandort auf: In welchem Land, auf welchem Kontinent wollen wir künftig unsere Kleider fertigen lassen? Unter fairen Bedingungen und das Miteinander geprägt durch gegenseitiges Interesse, Wertschätzung und Respekt. Die Suche nach einer stimmigen Antwort führte die Gründerinnen 2017 nach Benin – auch wenn an eine Produktion vorerst nicht zu denken war. Nicht weil es an Schneiderinnen und Schneidern gefehlt hätte, sondern an einem einheitlichen Verständnis darüber, wie eine Hose, ein Hemd oder gar ein Dirndl zu nähen sind.

Heute unterhält THE PROJECT JUSTINE – train the trainer ein eigenes Ausbildungs- und Berufszentrum im Norden von Benin, in dem junge Frauen und Männer das Schneiderhandwerk von Grund auf erlernen und zu Trainerinnen und Trainern heranwachsen. Das Engagement zeigt Früchte. Die ersten Schüler sind ausgebildet, geben ihr Wissen an die nächsten Jahrgänge weiter und werden aufgrund ihrer Expertise von Nachbarländern angefragt. Mit dem steigenden Interesse an Westafrika als Produktionsstandort für Textil wird der Bedarf allerorten offensichtlich: Es fehlt sowohl an Schneidern, die Stoffe auf einheitlich hohem Niveau verarbeiten, als auch an Trainern, die ausbilden und anleiten können. Erste Kooperationen und Partnerschaften über Ländergrenzen hinweg entstehen – stets mit der Zielsetzung, langfristige Arbeitsplätze zu schaffen.

Wir sind dankbar für die Reise, die hinter uns liegt. Und gespannt auf die Schritte, die folgen. Afrika bewegt sich. Wir bewegen uns mit.

Meilensteine

Team & Unterstützer

Unsere Partner 

KONZENTRATION AUF SIEBEN ZIELE (SGDs) DER VEREINTEN NATIONEN

THE PROJECT JUSTINE
– train the trainer e.V.
Agricolaplatz 7
80687 Munich


+49 (0) 89 88 98 12 70

info@theprojectjustine.org

THE PROJECT JUSTINE - train the trainer e.V.
IBAN DE71 4306 0967 8237 2376 00
BIC GENODEM1GLS

Quicklinks