Train the trainer for setting up a production facility

The former textile nation is undergoing a transformation. Senegal no longer just wants to grow and export high-quality cotton, but also wants to process the fibres back into finished garments itself. By setting up a production facility and training tailors, we are helping the country and its people to make the leap into a value-adding textile future.

Train the trainer for setting up a production facility

The former textile nation is undergoing a transformation. Senegal no longer just wants to grow and export high-quality cotton, but also wants to process the fibres back into finished garments itself. By setting up a production facility and training tailors, we are helping the country and its people to make the leap into a value-adding textile future.

presidential republic

Form of government

196.722 km²

area

17.2 million

Inhabitants (2021)

religions

90 % Muslims, 5-7 % Christians,
3 % traditional religions

78,14 %

Youth literacy rate
(2022)

+ 2,6 %

Population growth rate
(2021)

Country profile

GEOGRAPHICAL LOCATION

Senegal is located directly on the Atlantic Ocean, surrounded by the five neighbouring countries of Mauritania, Mali, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau and Gambia. The country is about half the size of Germany, and a good half of its inhabitants live in cities. Above all in and around Dakar, Thiès Nones, Touba, Kaolack and Diourbel.

ECONOMY

Senegal is considered one of the most stable countries in Africa, both economically and politically, and has been one of the reform partners of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) since November 2019. Its self-declared goal: to become an emerging economy in the coming years.

RELIGION AND LANGUAGE

There are no major tensions between the 20 or so ethnic groups living together and most Senegalese belong to the Muslim faith. At least 80 per cent of the population speak or understand Wolof, which is the everyday language par excellence. Nevertheless, the official language is French.

TEXTILE AND TEXTILE INDUSTRY

Both national and international brands are focussing on the country as a potential production location. This is because Senegal not only has a well-structured cotton sector, but also a solid machine park with European spinning, weaving and knitting machines from the 1980s. In addition, investments are being made in companies for Tracabality software, which can already track the most important production steps.

Construction of a production facility with long-term jobs in Diourbel

Around 150 kilometres from Senegal’s capital Dakar, we are working with Invest for Jobs, a brand of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), and our two local partners, Karima Mbacké and Sidy Diop, to set up a textile production facility. Our goal: to train and educate tailors according to a proven curriculum so that they can produce garments and home textiles for the regional, national and international market on a permanent basis. Our trainers from Benin support the trainers and trainees on site. The best side effect: contacts and friendships are formed across national borders, knowledge and expertise begin to flow.

Around 150 kilometres from Senegal’s capital Dakar, we are working with Invest for Jobs, a brand of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), and our two local partners, Karima Mbacké and Sidy Diop, to set up a textile production facility. Our goal: to train and educate tailors according to a proven curriculum so that they can produce garments and home textiles for the regional, national and international market on a permanent basis. Our trainers from Benin support the trainers and trainees on site. The best side effect: contacts and friendships are formed across national borders, knowledge and expertise begin to flow.

There are many certified tailors in Senegal, but there is no standardised training – everyone is their own master. Here, people learn the craft from the ground up so that they can produce different garments to a high standard.

Clothing made in Africa is also an attempt to stem the tide of low-quality clothing from Asia and used clothing from Europe. We know from conversations: The demand for locally produced items is increasing, especially among young people.

West Africa is also an interesting production location for European textile manufacturers and fashion labels. The industry has been experiencing major upheavals along the supply chains, and not just since the coronavirus pandemic, and is ready to enter into new, more stable models of cooperation.

Our local contacts: Karima Mbacké & SIDY DIOP

With Karima Mbacké, founder of ASISPEV (asispev.com), and Sidy Diop, founder of SIDIO GROUP (sidio-group.com), we have two professionals at our side. Both have been committed to sustainability in their country for years, have excellent networks and are in contact with investors at home and abroad.

News & Stories

New base in white and blue

New base in white and blue

With the support of our two partner NGOs ASISPEV(asispev.com) and SIDIO GROUP(sidio-group.com), we found an old warehouse in Diourbel. It is perfect for our plan to set up our own production facility for textiles in close cooperation with the Deutsche Gesellschaft für...

read more
A good omen

A good omen

The day after the opening ceremony, the sky turned orange. Desert sand from the Sahara lay like a filter in front of the sun for two days. A natural spectacle - and an additional challenge at over 40 degrees in the shade. We take it as a good omen, Sahara dust is...

read more
Bus ahoy

Bus ahoy

Every morning, a bus collects our tailors and dressmakers at several collection points and brings them back there at 4 pm. We have opted for transport for two reasons: Most of the women and men cannot afford the cost of travelling there and back in the long term - and...

read more

THE PROJECT JUSTINE – train the trainer e.V.

Behind the organisation are Rahmée Wetterich and Marie Darouiche, founders of the Munich fashion label NOH NEE. With the success of their internationally renowned Dirndl à l’ Africaine, the question of a suitable production location quickly arose: In which country, on which continent do we want to have our clothes made in future? Under fair conditions and characterised by mutual interest, appreciation and respect. The search for a coherent answer led the founders to Benin in 2017 – even if production was initially out of the question. Not because there was a lack of tailors and dressmakers, but because there was no common understanding of how to sew trousers, a shirt or even a dirndl.

Today, THE PROJECT JUSTINE – train the trainer runs its own training and vocational centre in the north of Benin, where young women and men learn the tailoring trade from scratch and grow up to become trainers. The commitment is bearing fruit. The first students have been trained, are passing on their knowledge to the next generation and are being asked for their expertise by neighbouring countries. With the growing interest in West Africa as a production location for textiles, the need is evident everywhere: there is a lack of tailors who can process fabrics to a consistently high standard, as well as a lack of trainers who can train and instruct. The first co-operations and partnerships are emerging across national borders.

We are grateful for the journey that lies behind us. And we look forward to the next steps. Africa is on the move. We are moving with it.

Milestones

Team & Supporters

Our partners

CONCENTRATION ON SEVEN GOALS (SGDs) OF THE UNITED NATIONS

THE PROJECT JUSTINE
- train the trainer e.V.
Agricolaplatz 7
80687 Munich


+49 (0) 89 88 98 12 70
info@theprojectjustine.org

THE PROJECT JUSTINE - train the trainer e.V.
IBAN DE71 4306 0967 8237 2376 00
BIC GENODEM1GLS

Quicklinks

ABOUT US

PROJECTS

NEWS & STORIES

DONATE

PRESS

INVITATIONS TO TENDER

Please support us:

© THE PROJECT JUSTINE – train the trainer e.V.

Train the Trainer für den Aufbau einer Produktionsstätte

Die ehemalige Textilnation befindet sich im Wandel. Senegal möchte nicht mehr nur hochwertige Baumwolle anbauen und exportieren, sondern die Fasern auch wieder bis zum fertigen Kleidungsstück selbst verarbeiten. Durch den Aufbau einer Produktionsstätte sowie die Ausbildung von Schneiderinnen und Schneidern unterstützen wir Land und Leute beim Sprung in eine wertschöpfende, textile Zukunft.

Train the Trainer für den Aufbau einer Produktionsstätte

Die ehemalige Textilnation befindet sich im Wandel. Senegal möchte nicht mehr nur hochwertige Baumwolle anbauen und exportieren, sondern die Fasern auch wieder bis zum fertigen Kleidungsstück selbst verarbeiten. Durch den Aufbau einer Produktionsstätte sowie die Ausbildung von Schneiderinnen und Schneidern unterstützen wir Land und Leute beim Sprung in eine wertschöpfende, textile Zukunft.

PRÄSIDIALE REPUBLIK

Staatsform

196.722 km²

Fläche

17,2 Mio.

Einwohner (2021)

Religionen

90 % Muslime, 5-7 % Christen,
3 % traditionelle Religionen

78,14 %

Jugend-Alphabetisierungsrate
(2022)

+ 2,6 %

Bevölkerungswachstumsrate
(2021)

Länderprofil

GEOGRAFISCHE LAGE

Senegal liegt direkt am Atlantik, umgeben von den fünf Nachbarländern Mauretanien, Mali, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau und Gambia. Das Land ist etwa halb so groß wie Deutschland, gut die Hälfte der Einwohner lebt in Städten. Allen voran in und um Dakar, Thiès Nones, Touba, Kaolack und Diourbel. 

WIRTSCHAFT

Senegal gilt wirtschaftlich und politisch als eines der stabilsten Länder Afrikas und gehört seit November 2019 zu den Reformpartnern des Deutschen Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ). Selbsterklärtes Ziel: In den kommenden Jahren den Aufstieg zum Schwellenland schaffen.

RELIGION UND SPRACHE

Das Zusammenleben der etwa 20 ethnischen Gruppen verläuft ohne große Spannungen, die meisten Senegalesen gehören dem muslimischen Glauben an. Mindestens 80 Prozent der Bevölkerung beherrschen beziehungsweise verstehen Wolof, es ist die Alltagssprache schlechthin. Die Amtssprache ist dennoch Französisch.

TEXTIL UND TEXTILE INDUSTRIE

Nationale wie internationale Brands haben das Land als potentiellen Produktionsstandort im Blick. Denn Senegal verfügt nicht nur über einen gut strukturierten Baumwollsektor, sondern auch über einen soliden Maschinenpark mit europäischen Spinn-, Web- sowie Wirkmaschinen aus den 1980er Jahren. Zudem wird in Unternehmen für Tracabality-Software investiert, die schon heute die wichtigsten Produktionsschritte verfolgen können.

Aufbau einer Produktionsstätte mit langfristigen Arbeitsplätzen in Diourbel

Etwa 150 Kilometer von Senegals Hauptstadt Dakar entfernt errichten wir im Schulterschluss mit Invest for Jobs, eine Marke der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), sowie unseren beiden Partnern vor Ort, Karima Mbacké und Sidy Diop, eine Produktionsstätte für Textil. Unser Ziel: Schneiderinnen und Schneider nach bewährtem Curriculum aus- und fortbilden, damit sie in fester Anstellung Kleidungsstücke und Heimtextilien für den regionalen, überregionalen und internationalen Markt anfertigen können. Unsere Trainerinnen und Trainer aus Benin unterstützen die Ausbilder und Auszubildenden vor Ort. Schönster Nebeneffekt: Kontakte und Freundschaften über Ländergrenzen hinweg entstehen, Wissen und Knowhow fangen an, zu fließen. 

Etwa 150 Kilometer von Senegals Hauptstadt Dakar entfernt errichten wir im Schulterschluss mit Invest for Jobs, eine Marke der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), sowie unseren beiden Partnern vor Ort, Karima Mbacké und Sidy Diop, eine Produktionsstätte für Textil. Unser Ziel: Schneiderinnen und Schneider nach bewährtem Curriculum aus- und fortbilden, damit sie in fester Anstellung Kleidungsstücke und Heimtextilien für den regionalen, überregionalen und internationalen Markt anfertigen können. Unsere Trainerinnen und Trainer aus Benin unterstützen die Ausbilder und Auszubildenden vor Ort. Schönster Nebeneffekt: Kontakte und Freundschaften über Ländergrenzen hinweg entstehen, Wissen und Knowhow fangen an, zu fließen. 

Im Senegal gibt es viele zertifizierte Schneider und Schneiderinnen, aber keine einheitliche Ausbildung, jeder ist sein eigener Meister. Bei uns lernen die Menschen das Handwerk von der Pike auf, um unterschiedliche Kleidungsstücke auf hohem Niveau anfertigen zu können.  

Kleidung made in Africa ist auch der Versuch, die Flut an minderwertiger Kleidung aus Asien und gebrauchter Kleidung aus Europa einzudämmen. Aus Gesprächen wissen wir: Die Nachfrage nach lokal produzierten Stücken steigt, gerade unter jungen Menschen.

Westafrika als Produktionsstandort ist auch für europäische Textilhersteller und Modelabels interessant. Nicht erst seit der Corona Pandemie erlebt die Branche heftige Umbrüche entlang der Lieferketten und ist bereit, neue stabilere Modelle der Zusammenarbeit einzugehen. 

Unsere Ansprechpartner VOR ORT: Karima Mbacké & SIDY DIOP

Mit Karima Mbacké, Gründerin von ASISPEV (asispev.com), und Sidy Diop, Gründer von SIDIO GROUP (sidio-group.com), stehen zwei Vollprofis an unserer Seite. Beide engagieren sich seit Jahren für die Nachhaltigkeit ihres Landes, sind bestens vernetzt und stehen mit Investoren aus dem In- und Ausland in Kontakt.

News & StorYs

Neue Basis in Weiß und Blau

Neue Basis in Weiß und Blau

Mit der Unterstützung unserer beiden Partner-NGOs ASISPEV (asispev.com) und SIDIO GROUP (sidio-group.com) haben wir ein altes Lagerhaus in Diourbel gefunden. Es eignet sich perfekt für unser Vorhaben, im Schulterschluss mit der Deutschen Gesellschaft für...

mehr lesen
Gutes Omen

Gutes Omen

Am Tag nach der Eröffnungsfeier färbte sich der Himmel orange. Wüstensand aus der Sahara legte sich zwei Tage lang wie ein Filter vor die Sonne. Ein Naturspektakel – und bei über 40 Grad im Schatten eine zusätzliche Herausforderung. Wir nehmen es als gutes Omen,...

mehr lesen
Bus ahoi

Bus ahoi

Jeden Morgen sammelt ein Bus unsere Schneider und Schneiderinnen an mehreren Sammelpunkten ein und bringt sie um 16 Uhr dorthin zurück. Wir haben uns für den Transport aus zwei Gründen entschieden: Die meisten Frauen und Männer können sich die Kosten für An- und...

mehr lesen

THE PROJECT JUSTINE – train the trainer e.V.